MacArthur Center’s New Policy

8 10 2009

As I am sure that you have heard by now, MacArthur Center is going to be enacting a new policy on October the 19th. This new policy will require adult (21+) supervision of anyone under the age of 18 after 5 PM. At first, I had mixed feelings about this new policy. I remember when I was 16 and 17. I would not have wanted to go to the movies with my girlfriend and my mom. Forget hanging out with my friends too. Its nothing personal to my wonderful mother, it is just normal for teens to want to have some degree of independence and responsibility. On the other hand, I also remember other kids at 16 or 17 and younger. Everyone knows who I am talking about. Those kids that shout at each other from different floors. Those that may be affiliated with a gang trying to start trouble. Those that take advantage of a more crowded evening setting to get a five-finger discount in their favorite store. These are the kids that they are trying to keep under control. It just happens to be easier to restrict the group in general than to fight each case independently, which often lead to arguments about it being ‘fair.’

Overall, while I dislike blanket rules, I support MacArthur Center’s attempt to keep it from going the way of Military Circle Mall, where I no longer feel safe due to large groups of kids hanging out at night. Even if the feeling is just a perception, I know that many people will not show somewhere that they perceive is bad. I applaud the Mall for taking a measure to prevent the continuation of a trend instead of waiting until the damage has been done. Good job MacArthur.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

